Ladybug Cake

20120804-195040.jpg

I made this Ladybug cake for my sister Juliet’s 10th birthday. She’d just done a unit on bugs for school and loved it, so I used that as my inspiration. Ladybugs seemed like the most toothsome insect, and I was really happy with the result.

This cake was made a while ago so I don’t actually recall what cake recipe I used … But it was most likely this chocolate cake from Smitten Kitchen. With a cake for a 10-year-old, everyone knows the most important thing is the icing, so the cake doesn’t need to be super fancy, a basic recipe will work perfectly!

So for the decorations, they were actually very simple, though a little time-consuming. The ‘dirt’ was made out of Oreos blitzed in the food processor (I love my mini Cuisinart food processor for jobs like this – it’s perfect for small quantities and doesn’t take up too much space in the dishwasher!). The ‘grass’ was made from cream cheese frosting, tinted green and piped with the Wilton piping tip #233. The ladybugs and leaves were made out of marshmallow fondant, tinted with gel coloring.

To keep the ladybugs looking shiny, I brushed them with a little melted raspberry jam before adding their spots with food coloring. They stayed shiny even after being in the fridge for a day!

2 thoughts on “Ladybug Cake

Leave a Reply

